The Centre of Buddhist Studies (CBS) is the first academic centre to focus on Buddhist Studies at local universities. Since its inauguration in 2002, progressive developments have been made and much recognition has been gained from both The University of Hong Kong and various public sectors. Some of the milestones in the history of our Centre are highlighted below.

  1. 2002

    Inauguration of the Centre in affiliation with the Faculty of Social Sciences
    Launch of the Master of Buddhist Studies programme
    First office located in Meng Wah Complex
    Admitted the first batch of PhD students
    Began offering undergraduate elective courses
    Directorship by Ven. Dr. Jing Yin (2002-2010)
  2. 2003

    Establishment of the Centre’s library in Meng Wah Complex
    Offered the first broadening course “Money, Love and Morality” for undergraduates
  3. 2004

    Re-located from Meng Wah Complex to May Hall
  4. 2005

    Establishment of the CBS Alumni Association
  5. 2009

    Re-affiliated to the Faculty of Arts
  6. 2010

    Offered the first Common Core Course “Buddhism and Chinese Culture” for undergraduates
    Directorship by Ven. Sik Hin Hung (2010-2018)
  7. 2012

    Relocated from May Hall to the Centennial Campus
    10th Anniversary Celebration
  8. 2016

    Launched the minor in Buddhist Studies for undergraduates
  9. 2017

    15th Anniversary Celebration
  10. 2018

    Launched the Master of Buddhist Counselling programme
    The number of graduates of the Master of Buddhist Studies programme exceeds 1,000
    Directorship held by Dr. Guang Xing (2018-2022)
  11. 2020

    Launched the Postgraduate Diploma in Professional Practice of Buddhist Counselling in collaboration with HKU SPACE
  12. 2021

    Established the TLKY-HKUCBS Buddhist Counselling Centre
    The total number of student enrolment in undergraduate electives exceeded 3,000
  13. 2022-2023

    20th Anniversary Celebration
    Offered advanced Sanskrit, Pāli and Tibetan language courses
    Directorship by Dr. Georgios T. Halkias (2022-present)